Recent Publications

Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS)
The 2016 – 2021 CEDS for Northwest Minnesota has taken a little different shape to more closely resemble that of each of the other Economic Development Regions of Greater Minnesota. The Economic Development Regions have agreed upon four key cornerstones to economic development; Human Capital, Economic Competitiveness, Community Resources and Foundational Assets. Each region has based their CEDS on these cornerstones and developed their own unique goals and strategies. The 2016 CEDS does maintain previous priorities of Planning, Promotion, Business Development, Labor Force Development and Renewable Energies with added emphasis on workforce related issues such as housing, childcare, training and business succession planning.
To view our 2016 – 2021 CEDS click here!

2016 Annual Report
For a more detailed look at what we accomplished in 2016 click here.

Who We Are

The Northwest Regional Development Commission (NWRDC) is a body of twenty-three local elected officials and eight public interest members who have formed a special purpose unit of government, as authorized by the Regional Development Act of 1969, to “develop plans and implement programs which address growth and development issues” in Northwest Minnesota. The NWRDC began operation on February 2, 1973. The NWRDC is authorized to levy a limited amount of local property taxes and to enter into contracts with other units of government and private foundations to operate programs and services which benefit the area. The NWRDC provides local match for each of the programs through the local tax levy.

The NWRDC serves the counties of Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau.

For more information about our programs and services click the program name below!

Land of the Dancing Sky Area Agency on Aging
Helping individuals live well as they age in their communities. We help older adults, the communities in which they live and the public, non-profit and private organizations that support them. Together, we aim to foster positive aging in all communities. 

Northwest Minnesota Arts Council
Promotes growth for artists while encouraging access and participation in the arts throughout our area. Including theater, music, visual arts, literature & dance. 

Economic Development
Designed to maintain and increase the population level and job base in our area by providing general planning guidance, technical assistance for specific industrial projects and services to local units of government. 

Community Development
Discusses and develops solutions to rural issues and problems which are held common in our region. 

Transportation Planning
Plans and coordinates the construction and maintenance of a viable roads, rails, air and trail systems to support business, personal and recreational travel. 

Northwest Regional Enterprise Loan Fund
Strengthens and diversifies the economy by providing a source of low interest financing to businesses when credit is not otherwise available. Our priority is to provide financing to for-profit businesses which create or retain jobs, especially for the long-term underemployed and unemployed. 

Emergency Operations Planning
Progresses local, regional and state strategies and projects that are related to relevant, identified threats and potential risks. Our goal is to help prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from disasters that occur in our area as well as work toward keeping us secure from acts of terrorism.

County Information

Information about the counties served by the NWRDC is now located at our website in the county section.
Click the county names below to go directly to that county’s page.

Donaldson, Hallock, Halma, Humboldt, Karlstad, Kennedy, Lake Bronson, Lancaster, St. Vincent

Alvarado, Argyle, Grygla, Holt, Middle River, Newfolden, Oslo, Stephen, Strandquist, Viking, Warren

Ada, Borup, Gary, Halstad, Hendrum, Perley, Shelly, Twin Valley

Goodridge, St. Hilaire, Thief River Falls

Beltrami, Climax, Crookston, East Grand Forks, Erskine, Fertile, Fisher, Fosston, Gully, Lengby, McIntosh, Mentor, Nielsville, Trail, Winger

Red Lake
Brooks, Oklee Plummer, Red Lake Falls

Badger, Greenbush, Roosevelt, Roseau, Strathcona, Warroad

Northwest Regional Development Commission
109 South Minnesota Street, Warren, MN 56762.
P | (218) 745-6733          F | (218) 745-6438          E | 

Staff & Commission Members
NWRDC Staff List
Commission Members List